Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Meeting Proceedings

January 13, 2025

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Mr. Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Heather Scholz, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: None.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on December 9, 2024, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Tronsen, High School Principal, and the High School Administrative Team presented the School of the Month report for Beaver Dam High School. They provided an overview of their School Success Plan goals, including objectives and action steps. They highlighted school climate and culture, including the Youth Apprenticeship program, student activities, and events.

Mr. Franz, CPA with Baker Tilly, presented the district's fiscal year 2024 audit report. The audit received an unmodified opinion, which is the highest-level of assurance that can be received from an audit. He reported that all accounting principles have been applied consistently throughout the year and the district is in good healthy financial condition. The Federal and State single audit had no compliance issues and was issued an unmodified opinion. He reviewed the required communications.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, presented a recommendation for space availability for new open enrollment students for the 2025-26 school year. He reviewed the space availability for regular education, which includes no limit for grades 4K-5, 30 for grade 6, 25 for grade 7, 30 for grade 8, 30 for grade 9, 25 for grade 10, 25 for grade 11, and 0 for grade 12. He reported there is no space available for new open enrollment special education students due to caseload and enrollment projections.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, to approve the space availability for new open enrollment applicants for the 2025-2026 school year as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Cashman, Director of Business Services, presented a donation of shelving units from WalMart Distribution in Beaver Dam for a total value of \$1,924.

Tyjeski moved, Mason seconded, to accept the donation as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Max Luedtke, Board of Education Student Representative, reported on student organization holiday activities and concerts, semester exam prep, the upcoming String Fling and Parade of Bands concerts, the beginning of course selection for next year, and 8th grade student tours of the High School.

Mr. Prieve announced that the Operations Committee and Teaching and Learning Committee did not meet since the last board meeting and the next meetings are scheduled for January 27, 2025.

Mr. Kraus requested board members provide Ms. Jorgensen feedback or comments on the WASB 2025 proposed resolutions prior to the WASB Delegate meeting. She will be representing the board in his absence.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in since the last board meeting.

Board members recognized the Good Ol' Acapella group for their great representation of the district during their community performances, retired Ag Teacher Dave Laatsch for his Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association of Agriculture Educators recognizing his 35-year career, and Wilson School's wonderful last Christmas program.

Mr. DiStefano recognized student groups for their volunteerism in the community, announced the upcoming Pasta with a Purpose event at the High School, and thanked referendum project team members for their added engagement. The Operations Committee will discuss the status of the referendum project and a monthly brief will be published for the public on the district website. He thanked the community for their engagement.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, the board recess into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. No - None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the following retirements and resignation: Katie Laude-Sunderland-Special Education Teacher-Middle School (Retirement effective end of the 2024-25 school year); Meri Kay Streblow-Grade 1 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (Retirement effective end of the 2024-25 school year); and Brice Vircks-Science & Social Studies-Middle School (Resignation effective 1/13/25).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Tyjeski seconded, to approve the following leave of absence request: Samantha Alvarado-ELL Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Medical Leave 11/27/24-end of the 2024-25 school year).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointments: Summer Salettel-Long-Term Substitute Teacher (LTS 1/10/25-4/14/25) and Jeff Slayton-Health Teacher-High School (LTS 3/24/25-4/15/25).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. No - None.

Mr. DiStefano presented administrator contracts that are due for 2025-2027 for Celina Alvin, Ryan Cashman, John Casper, Katelyn Dwyer, Ashley Jansma, Brandon Krause, Troy Marshall, Jesse Peters, Wyatt Tramburg, Russ Tronsen, and Paul Wilson effective July 1, 2025.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, the board approve administrator contracts for the presented administration effective July 1, 2025.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. No-None.

Tyjeski moved, Dornfeld seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #599, #600, #601, #602, and #603) for ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, Payroll Related Voucher, Health/Dental Insurances, Wisconsin Retirement System, Modern Woodmen of America, Thrivent, and WEA TSA for a total of \$5,051,658.35. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. Nay-None.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 8:07 p.m.

<u>/s/</u> Chad Prieve, President <u>/s/</u> Marge Jorgensen, Clerk